The Second Girl

by Ronan Noone • Directed by Campbell Scott

With Eugene O’Neill’s classic Long Day's Journey Into Night as a backdrop, The Second Girl takes us into the kitchen of the Tyrone family in August 1912. In the interplay between the immigrant Irish servant girls, Bridget and Cathleen, and the chauffeur, Jack Smythe, playwright Ronan Noone evokes the love and despair of the big house while exploring the tragedy and triumph of sacrificing one home for another.

Featuring Liam Craig*, Kathleen McEfresh*, and MacKenzie Meehan*.

Ronan Noone is a Huntington Playwriting Fellow. His plays, The Lepers of Baile Baiste, The Blowin of Baile Gall,  The Atheist, Brendan, Little Black Dress, A Small Death and The Compass Rose, have played in theaters across the United States, including Williamstown Theatre Festival, Huntington Theatre Company and at The Culture Project in New York, London (Theatre 501, St James Theatre), and the Philippines.  His plays are published by Samuel French, Smith and Kraus, Baker Plays and Dramatist’s Play Service. Awards include three Independent Reviewers of New England (IRNE) Best New Play, an Elliot Norton outstanding script, and a Kennedy Center National Playwriting award. He is a recent invited artist at the Hermitage Artist retreat in Manasota Key Florida.

Breaking Ground is the Huntington Theatre Company's festival of new work, a vital part of our new play development program. The festival highlights the work of local playwrights and presents national writers in partnership with the Huntington. Over the last seven years, Breaking Ground plays have gone on to appear at the Huntington as well as theatres in Boston, across the country, and internationally. Unless otherwise noted, admission to all Breaking Ground readings is FREE and open to the public.


  • Liam CraigJack Smythe
  • Kathleen McElfreshBrigit O'Sullivan
  • MacKenzie MeehanCathleen O'Leary
  • Ross BrownReader
  • Bethany FordStage Manager

© 2021 The Huntington. All rights reserved | Trouble viewing this site? Please download Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.