Skip to main content

Loretta Greco

Loretta Greco (Artistic Director) is an artistic director, producer, and director with over two decades of artistic leadership experience. Her passion is championing groundbreaking artists whose work asks robust questions about our humanity, and fostering a nurturing, rigorous artistic home for extraordinary theatremakers and audiences.

Her freelance directing career spans the spectrum from reimagined classics to musicals and world premieres. Greco’s impact on the field is significant. 20 of the 26 world premieres she developed and produced have gone on to have to subsequent productions in New York and throughout the country (in 24 states) and internationally. Highlights include: the world premieres of Oedipus el Rey by Luis Alfaro; Hir by Taylor Mac; Don’t Eat the Mangos by Ricardo Perez Gonzalez; American Hwangap by Lloyd Suh; and the chamber opera Arlington by Victor Lodato and Polly Pen. Large scale productions include the Magic Theatre’s rolling world premiere of Taylor Mac’s five-hour allegory, The Lily’s Revenge with 36 performers and 6 women directors; the repertory of Mfoniso Udofia’s Sojourners and runboyrun; Jessica Hagedorn’s Dogeaters; and Barbara Hammond’s The Eva Trilogy among others. During her tenure at the Magic Theatre, playwrights have been recognized as Pulitzer finalists, Tony Award nominees, Herb Alpert honorees, Academy Award winners, and MacArthur “Genius” Award recipients.

Throughout her career, Greco has worked diligently to seek and create exciting community partnerships. Her community collaborations at the Magic included Taylor Mac’s A 24-Decade History of Popular Music in association with The Curran Theatre, Pomegranate Arts, and Stanford Live; the repertory of Tarell Alvin McCraney’s Brother/Sister Plays with ACT and Marin Theatre Company, and the Sheparding America celebration with ACT, Campo Santo, Crowded Fire, and Word for Word, among others. A passionate community builder, Greco spearheaded Magic’s Tenderloin Arts and Community programs for youth and adults and the Magic Laney College collaboration.

Greco has directed both premieres and reimagined classics in New York, San Francisco, and throughout the country. She directed Calderon’s Life is a Dream for Cal Shakes, and critically acclaimed American revivals such as Fool for Love by Sam Shepard for Magic and Speed the Plow by David Mamet for American Conservatory Theater. She also developed and directed the world premiere of Ruben Santiago-Hudson’s Lackawanna Blues for The Public Theater and directed the national tour of Emily Mann’s Having Our Say and its international premiere at the historic Market Theatre in Johannesburg, South Africa.

In addition to her long tenure as Magic Theatre’s Artistic Director, she has served as Producing Artistic Director of New York’s WP Theater (formerly known as the Women’s Project) where she championed and produced a who’s who of theatre women including, Liesl Tommy, Annie Dorsen, Anne Kaufman, Lisa D’Amour, Katie Pearl, Leigh Silverman, and Diane Paulus, among many others. As Associate Director and staff producer of the McCarter Theatre Center, Greco originated their Second Stage-On-Stage festival, commissioning and producing plays from dozens of writers, including Nilo Cruz, Adrienne Kennedy, and Doug Wright, while line producing mainstage premieres such as Anna Deveare Smith’s Twilight, Athol Fugard’s Valley Song, Stephen Wadsworth’s The Triumph of Love, and Mann’s Having Our Say which then moved to Broadway.

Greco has taught at UCSD and at Brown University. She has served on TCG/Fox, ART/ New York, Pew Center for Arts, Drama League, and Herb Alpert Foundation panels. She is a New York Theatre Workshop Usual Suspect and the recipient of Bay Area Critic’s Association Awards, Drama League fellowships, the Princess Grace Award, a Sundance/Luma Director’s fellowship, the 2018 Zelda Fichandler Award, the 2019 Gene Price Award, an honorary Acting Degree from American Conservatory Theatre, and the 2020 Sam Shepard Legacy Award. She is the proud mother of Sophia Greco Brill.


(As of February 2022)

Michael Maso

Michael Maso has led the Huntington’s administrative and financial operations since 1982. He has produced more than 200 productions in partnership with three artistic directors and is one of the most well-regarded managing directors in the theatre industry. Under his tenure, the Huntington has received over 160 Elliot Norton and IRNE awards, as well as the 2013 Tony Award for Outstanding Regional Theatre. Mr. Maso received the 2016 Massachusetts Nonprofit Network’s Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as TCG’s 2012 Theatre Practitioner Award, the Huntington’s 2012 Wimberly Award, StageSource’s 2010 Theatre Hero Award, the 2005 Commonwealth Award (the state’s highest arts honor), and the 2000 Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence. In 2004 the Boston Herald honored him as Theatre Man of the Year. Mr. Maso led the Huntington’s 10-year drive to build the Stanford Calderwood Pavilion at the Boston Center for the Arts, which opened in September 2004, and is currently leading the redevelopment and renovation of the Huntington Avenue Theatre. He previously served on the Boston Cultural Planning Steering Committee, and as a member of the board for ArtsBoston, Theatre Communications Group (TCG), and StageSource. From 1997 to 2005 Mr. Maso served as the president of the League of Resident Theatres (LORT). In 2005, he was named as one of a dozen members of the inaugural class of the Barr Fellows Program. Prior to the Huntington, he served as the managing director of Alabama Shakespeare Festival, general manager of New York’s Roundabout Theatre Company, business manager for PAF Playhouse on Long Island, and as an independent arts management consultant based in Taos, New Mexico.

(As of March 2022)

Board of Trustees


David R. Peeler Chairman
Neal Balkowitsch President
Ann Merrifield Vice Chair
Linda H. Thomas Treasurer
Betsy Banks Epstein Clerk

Carole Alkins
David Altshuler
John Barros
John Cini
Gerard H. Cohen
Sherryl Cohen
Mary Connolly
Carol G. Deane
Margaret Eagle
David R. Epstein
William Finard
David Firestone
Ann T. Hall
Arthur C. Hodges
Jane Jamieson
Imari Paris Jeffries
Carol B. Langer
Kristine S. Langdon
David Leathers
Mahmood Malihi
Sharon Malt
Rumena Manolova-Senchak
William P. McQuillan
Sandra O. Moose
Anne M. Morgan
Cokie Perry
Billy Porter
Mitchell J. Roberts
John D. Spooner
Kate Taylor
Wendell Taylor
Linda Waintrup
Karen Holmes Ward
J. David Wimberly
Mary Wolfson
George Yip

Warren R. Radtke (Trustee Emeritus)

as of October 2022

Board of Advisors


Kate Taylor
Nancy S. Adams

Camilla Bennett
Audra Bohannon
Nancy Brickley
Suzanne Chapman
David Chard
Philip Chong
J. William Codinha
Bette Cohen
Dennis Condon
James J. Dillon
Janet Dracksdorf
Deborah First
Anne Fitzpatrick
Maria Farley Gerrity
Matthew Goldstein
Thomas Hamilton III
Simon Harford
Marianne Haydon
Linda Kanner
Sherry Lang
Joie Lemaitre
Cecile Lemley
Tracie Longman
Charles Marz
Noel McCoy
Thalia Meehan
Bobby Perino
Evelyn Peterman
Tania Phillips
Bryan Rafanelli
Gail Roberts
Donna J. Robinson
Robert H. Scott
Barbara Senchak
Donna Storer
Ben Taylor
George Ticknor
Elaine Woo
Fancy Zilberfarb
Linda Zug

as of October 2022